About us

For the cultivation of the spirit of good fellowship and of unconventionality, the right of our youngest member to rank with his oldest colleague, and last, but assuredly not least, the frank, free and tolerant discussion of scientific matters brought before its gathering.

The Oxford Ophthalmological Congress is the most long standing meeting and now the 2nd largest ophthalmological meeting held in the United Kingdom, attracting approximately 450 delegates each year. It is held in Oxford, with accommodation in one of the famous colleges.

Historically the Annual Meeting takes place from the first Monday in July through to the following Wednesday, at The New Theatre. Accommodation and social events are in Worcester College, Worcester Street, Oxford. 

The Council

The Oxford Ophthalmological Congress is led by the Council.

The Executive Officers of the Congress, are elected by the Council, and include a Master, a Deputy Master, an Editor, a Treasurer and a Secretary.

Together they manage the scientific content and business of the Congress.

To read more about the Congress and its history since 1909 read our Short History.

Council - 2022        
G Black Manchester   V Kumar Cardiff & Bridgend
M A Burdon Solihull   C J MacEwen Dundee
F Bishop* - Dep Mas. Leeds   S Mollan Birmingham
S Coupland Liverpool   D Morris Cardiff
T Dabbs* Master Leeds   M Parulekar* Birmingham
P Desai London   R Pilling* Bradford
B Dhillon Edinburgh   M S Sagoo London
A D Dick Bristol   P Shah Birmingham
H S Dua Nottingham   M P Snead Cambridge
M Hickey-Dwyer Limerick, EIRE   S J Talks Newcastle
P T Khaw London      

*Executive officers

The Council



Abstract SubmissionRegistrationProgramme Overview